Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

GP-5 gasmask

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
seth. polycounter lvl 14
hey everybody.

I have just finished my first "serious" portfolio piece, I'm a 1st year student at Derby Uni, but I'm using the summer to get my work up to scratch for internship aplications around Xmas.

With that in mind I would be greatful if I could get some C+C on the piece.

The Tri count is 2776, I really wanted to keep the eyepieces as round as possible. I think they are pretty much the focal point of the mask, was this a smart move or daftness.

thanks in advance and all that.

file.php?id=1589&mode=view

Replies

• HonkyPunch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    HonkyPunch polycounter lvl 18
    its kind of scary because the way the ears are done, it looks like someone is wearing it when that is clearly not so.
    Though, it's pretty good, I had this kind of gas mask.
  • seth.
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    seth. polycounter lvl 14
    hey Honkeypuch...(love the username :D) yeah I modeled it with a head in there so that I can use it on a character in the future if I need to.....I have a manequin base in Zbrush, do you think that I should low poly it and use it to display the mask? Anyway thanks man :)
  • limesimme
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    limesimme polycounter lvl 11
    You are using a 2048 map, yet I must point out that the green metal parts seem way too blurry and don't really wear that metal look.
    That is about what I can crit, other than that it's a good job done!
  • seth.
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    seth. polycounter lvl 14
    Thanks limesimme, I do tend to overdo it with the blur brush....I guess that doing an unsharp mask pass on it wouldn't hurt.
  • Lonewolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lonewolf polycounter lvl 18
    yea i would give bigger space for the cylinder part too but your pretty close to the ref so very nice work
  • seth.
    Options