Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] – Simon Hughes - Environment Artist

Hi everyone!

I am a recent graduate looking for work in the UK at an exciting and innovative games studio.

Here is my current Portfolio:

www.simonhughes1989.daportfolio.com

Any critique to do with the content of the website is welcome as I am always looking for ways to improve and learn. I look forward to your feedback.

Thanks!

Replies

• cholden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    Site never loads for me, just sits there hanging.

Edit: Based on what others said, I sat at let it load. After about 5-6 minutes it appeared.

Site and content are ok. Gotta get rid of the splash page, white background is too much contrast against your scenes and general slow to load content. But it all looks pretty good.
  • Mike Yevin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mike Yevin polycounter lvl 11
    For me the site took a ridiculous amount of time to come up (looked like it was hanging but then all of a sudden the whole thing appeared). I'm not sure what could be causing the hang up at the beginning but its something that should probably be addressed.

The portfolio section of your site was very easy to get around, and after the site had been initially loaded I noticed only a few seconds to load each high quality picture. The only thing I would suggest is get rid of the splash page, and have the viewer go straight into your portfolio section; the easier it is for a potential employer to see your art right away, the better.

Nice art pieces, the only crit as far as they go is possibly including a little information about them (engine, tri count, etc).

Nice portfolio overall, clean design and easy to navigate around in.
  • rawrsie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    deviant art portfolio site is slow as shit for me too, and i'm not a fan of white backgrounds. But if the site was quicker to load it definitely would be a serviceable portfolio.