Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio - Tim Chappell - 3D Artist

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
MonsterMan polycounter lvl 9
Hello All! :)

I am hoping to get some feedback on my portfolio. I am currently working in the game industry and am trying to migrate over to the art side of the field. (Though it doesn't have to be just game art.) I am working on developing a portfolio to obtain a position creating 3D art and would like to get any feedback on the direction I'm heading. Any opinions on the site itself or the artwork is appreciated. (The web site was a free template, and I'm not a web designer. :poly122:)

Thank You!

http://chappell.mosaicglobe.com/

Replies

• pliang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pliang polycounter lvl 17
    MonsterMan, may I ask what it is specifically in 3d you're looking to focus on? 3d in general or specialize in environments etc? It would definitely help narrow down the answers that way.
  • danshewan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    danshewan polycounter lvl 8
    Some of your anatomy studies are really strong, especially the ones detailing muscle definition - however, as with all the images on your site, I'd have liked to have seen larger images. As they are right now, they're too small to see any sort of detail work, especially the bunk bed crazy bump image for example.

Your 3D work could use some polish. As Peter said, some indication as to what field you want to move into would really help. If you want to get into games, then some in-engine screenshots of completed assets would be ideal, maybe a small environment or two - something that shows that you understand the current-gen workflow and shaders etc.

If you want to get into other areas of 3D (i.e. non-realtime), then I'd suggest working on your lighting and rendering - right now, your 3D stuff seems to be neither here nor there, and it's not immediately apparent what the purpose of each piece is in terms of demonstrating skills.