Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sci-Fi Rifle W.I.P

hi guys this is my first attempt to make a Sci-Fi Rifle, this is my reference image it is a quick sketch so let me know what you think detail is yet to be added and any ideas would come in handy thanks :D

scan0001ve.jpg
C & C please.

Replies

• dansher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dansher polycounter lvl 8
    is that the magazine sticking out the bottom there? if so i think it needs to be moved maybe thicken up one of the handles and have it coming out of there like a handgun
  • gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Its a cool idea, and a good start. How is the weapon held? I dont really see a good spot to rest the non trigger hand....if its meant to be held in the opening near the barrel, that looks too small...at least compared to the trigger. Also, going along with dansher the clip isnt in a great place...when the weapon is being used and the butt is up against the shoulder, it wouldnt be possible to reload. Just seems like it would be akward. Instead of moving it to a more ergonomic spot, I'd say do something more interesting with it, its the one thing on the gun that doesnt scream sci-fi to me. Maybe dont have a clip.

Also, I think you could do something more interesting with the but, maybe add a contour so it fits better on the shoulder, instead of being flat.
  • GarageBay9
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GarageBay9 polycounter lvl 13
    ...from a mechanical and small-arms design theory standpoint, this looks great. This is a functioning, logically-composed, practical and usable bullpup. The mag you're depicting looks like a pistol-caliber stick mag, which is a nice variation on the usual FPS suspects.

I would only suggest a couple small things: