Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP - The Storm (Tank)

Hey folks,

First post for me here at Polycount. I am primarily a concept artist building up 3d skill in the Art Institute of LA. Anyway, without further ado:

Render_5a.jpg

Replies

• a2ndelta
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The 3d model is totally WIP. Still have to work on the doodads on the turret itself as well as more details like tools, chains, and other addons to the tank body itself.

renderback.jpgrenderfront.jpg
  • Rhinokey
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rhinokey polycounter lvl 18
    the environment and tank look great, the people and the action look forced, like they were an afterthought in the process
  • dejawolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dejawolf polycounter lvl 18
    well, at least it doesn't have WW1 suspension. its better if you center the crew hatches inbetween the guns, because of the gun breeches recoiling backwards.

pic of the rheinmetall 120mm gun:
    Rehinmetall-120mmL44.jpg

also, adding a gun shroud, muzzle reference sensor, and bore evacuators will make the
    gun appear more realistic.
    the gun shroud is a wrapping around the tube to avoid the gun tube bending when it gets hot. the bore evacuator is a circular lump on the middle of the gun tube, which sucks the fumes that are left inside the gun after its been fired, and blows them out the end of the tube, instead of into the crew compartment. the Muzzle reference sensor is a small mirror at the end of the gun tube, used to realign the gun with the sight after around 10 rounds has been fired. as the gun is fired, the metal gets hot, and warps downwards. the gunner then takes a small crosshair, and aligns it with the MRS, to get the gun to fire correctly again.