Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Space seen Crit please?

Hey all,

I'm pretty new to 3D, and I just completed an internship that turned into a contracted gig working on an independent film as a modeler and texturer.

I put together some of the assets I created for the movie into a scene to add to my portfolio, but I could use some advice on how to improve the scene. I've never even had a class for lighting or rendering, so off hand, I think I could do for some improvement in the lighting of the planets, and depth of the scene. The shot is a bit blurrier than I'd like as well, but I think I can fix that by saving it as a tif or something instead of as a jpg. But I'd like some advice from people with more experience than myself.

Things you like (if any), thing I could improve on, and things you don't like. All imput would be appreciated.

oprheus2.jpg

Thanks in advance.

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    In the vacuum of space there is no water or air so metal won't oxidize unless it comes into contact with those things.

The craft doesn't look like it would be used to venture into a planets atmosphere? If it did then the leading edges would probably show signs of wear and be more prone to rust?

It also doesn't seem to have any way of staying in the air or landing, once effected by gravity.

The rust streaks look like they're effected by gravity, again absent from space...
    What about call letters or some kind of identification?
    How about adding some function to the greeble?

Depth of field maybe?
  • Snader
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    First of all, it's called a 'scene', so you might want to remember that. I'll criticize the main 2 aspects of the scene for you: the ship, and the setup (light, color, composition etc)

SETUP: