Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

"De Zandberg" - UDK Scene

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
movento polycounter lvl 17
Hello Polycounters,

it's been some time since i posted something here. After some character models i decided to try my first environment modeling. This scene represents an art workshop called "De Zandberg" (Sand Mountain literally) that's located in Harelbeke, Belgium. I go there twice a week to practice some drawing and painting. A while ago my teacher asked me to make a virtual presentation of the buildings. So i started learning UDK to visualize it.
Here's my progress so far.
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
Here are a couple of pictures of how it looks like in real life.
http://bramraes.ninjachronicles.com/3d/Zandberg%203D/Foto%27s/DSC_0302.JPG
http://bramraes.ninjachronicles.com/3d/Zandberg%203D/Foto%27s/DSC_0303.JPG
I'm having a problem with the building of the lighting however. I have 2 lights in the scene, A skylight and a DominantDirectional Light.
The problem is that when the lighting is baked,UDK only uses the skylight.If i rotate the skylight the Dominantdirectional light gets active,but i think those are dynamic shadows and it gives me the message "Lighting needs to be rebuilt" in red. I checked the settings of the directional light and its set to active.
Using a point light doesn't give me this problem.

C&C are welcome.

Replies

• Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    Hey man, this is funny, I work not far from harelbeke :)

It looks decent, though i think you have some smoothing group problems. A lot of stuff seems to have a single smoothing group, you can see it on the lockers for example, lighting is a bit wonky.

Also consider changing the skybox, the default ones really aren't that fitting for most lighting scenarios.
  • movento
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey Xoliul, you teach DAE at Howest,right?