Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First hand-painted texture

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
danshewan polycounter lvl 8
So after being in a bit of a funk for a while, I thought I'd try something a little different for me by hand-painting a texture. Opted for a simple damaged brick wall, and this is what I have so far.

painted1.jpg

I'm not happy with several aspects of it, though it's been a fun exercise, namely the surface details and cracks. I started out using some grunge brushes at 50% opacity to get a feel for look, placement etc. then went over these placeholder cracks with a simple small, circular brush to try and get them to pop, but to be honest, I think they looked better prior to going over them.

I've never tried this kind of thing before, so I'd love to hear how you guys got on when you started hand-painting textures, and any suggestions for creating convincing damage / details etc. or general critique that could help me improve. Thanks in advance.

Replies

• Progg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Progg polycounter lvl 11
    I think you are almost getting an inverse effect of what would naturally happen. You have your cracks as being a lighter value, whereas they would actually be darker than the bricks... so it is giving it an inverted look. Also there are too many cracks for how clean the individual brick's silhouettes are. If there were that many cracks you would expect some of the abnormally straight divider lines to be broken up and some of the bricks shaped more organically.
  • MRico
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MRico polycounter lvl 10
    Yeah I agree with Progg...right now your cracks look more like veins, like they're bulging out of the bricks instead of being carved into them.

Also, I don't know if you cropped it wrong...but it's not tileable.

Edit: Also right now, your clean highlights around each brick make them look more like tiles. You should roughen up the edges make it more crumble-ly looking.