Home Technical Talk

MAXScript Query

Hi guys,

okay, I haven't done any MAXScripting at all but now I'm in need of some desperate coding (I'm a Max noob in general)!!

What I need is a little script that will assign all selected objects a unique object ID (starting at 00 and an increment would work fine).

Anyone have any ideas where I should start with this?

I think eventually I would like it to give the id's and then create and prefill the exact amount of VRay Multimatte elements for the scene.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

C

Replies

• r_fletch_r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    r_fletch_r polycounter lvl 9
    do you have any programming knowledge? have you done the learning maxscript tutorials included with max?

Im confused whether this is a genuine 'please help me learn' thread or a 'please post the finished script'

off the top of my head this is what you need.

selectionCount = selection.count -- get how many objects we have selected.
    for i = 1 to selectionCount do  -- step from 1 to the number of selected objects
    (
     currentObject = selection[i] --get the contents of the list at i. eg if i =4 then we are getting the 4th selected object
     currentObject.gbufferchannel = i -- set the objects gbufferChannel/Object ID to a new number. we can use I for this
    )

• monster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    monster polycounter
    I used the MacroRecorder to find the gbufferchannel property. Then I just stuck it inside a loop on the current selection.
    for i = 1 to selection.count do
    (
    	selection[i].gbufferchannel = i
    )

• mLichy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hm... I need to look into gbuffer stuff... :)
  • javashrine
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    r_fletch_r wrote: »
    do you have any programming knowledge? have you done the learning maxscript tutorials included with max?