Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[portfolio] James Mashock

Hey guys. I graduated from college about a half a year ago and I updated my website recently. Been trying to get a job as an Environment Artist since then. I would appreciate any feedback with the efficiency of my web site and the art I currently have there. Any links or help would be awesome.

http://www.jamesmashock.com/

Replies

• PredatorGSR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PredatorGSR polycounter lvl 14
    Everything is solid, I don't have much I can say about it. Maybe a little better lighting in some pieces. I think the well scene had the best lighting and looked the most polished.

My only suggestion is to maybe work on a scifi scene next since half the industry is scifi based, and it will definitely improve your chances if you can demonstrate you can do it well.
  • Progg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Progg polycounter lvl 11
    Looks good. I would agree with Konrad that maybe there could be a bit more variety of theme by doing a Sci Fi or more fantasy based project.

The normals on the table asset might be a "little" too strong. Maybe knock that down a bit
  • Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    It kind of bothers me how the environments try so hard to look bust up, while having super straight geometry.

Tilt over some of the stairs' handrail, add a half broken step, make some real geometry dents in the walls (or even just move the vertices a bit) have heaps of fallen plaster.

Make sure the keeper's room has some spiderwebs, a dirty floor, dirty rug, a bunch of small stuff stacked between the box and desk, some dirty work shoes and a shovel somewhere, have the skirting be broken near the hole in the wall, have the hole be an actual hole (alpha the hole and put an inverted box behind it) make the messy and the broken parts match with the rest.