Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Thompson M1A1 - Subdivision question

Hey there!

I'm an absolute newbie to the whole 3D-modelling thing and have just recently started some meshes after I got 3DS Max and VRay. I'm mainly modelling firearms.

Now, my question is, I have been discouraged from using Subdivision (turbosmooth / meshsmooth) for my modelling work, since the final mesh will not be for in-game use but rather for hi-def shots with ray-tracing materials (VRay). I was told that having lots and lots of unnecessary polys will drastically increase render time. Therefore, smoothing edges should be done mainly by using chamfer etc. in order not to unnecessarily increase render time.

Now, while skimming the threads here and on several other forums, I noticed that most high-poly gun models do have smoothed edges even where you would not expect it, i.e. where you would have a completely straight edge when not using sub-d. This adds a lot of neat-looking highlights to those rounded edges, giving more "depth" to the model. However, those high-poly models oftentimes seem to have an almost impractically high poly count (i.e. some high-poly guns I've seen on this forum are at 800'000+ polys!!!).

While I do not need to keep the poly count as low as for game models, I've been able to model my guns with rather low poly count. For example, for this WIP Thompson M1A1 here, the tri count is around 8'500, i.e. around 4'000 polys:
Receiver1.jpg