Home Technical Talk

Portfolio Variety, opinions?

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Will Faucher polycounter lvl 12
Hey,
So I have a few issues concerning variety in my portfolio at the moment.
I'm starting out, and I would love to hear some advice from people who know what they are talking about.

So here's the thing. As of now I am a student, working on my portfolio. I am currently working on an environment that should be finished soon (It's an abandoned/deserted Japanese shrine). However, I've begun thinking about what my second environment should be. Now, I've always been told to try and mimic the style of a company I'd like to work for, and I was thinking of trying to nail a Sci-fi environment with Mass Effect's style, or a more historical environment with Assassin's Creed's style (Medieval or Renaissance-style environment perhaps?)

Knowing that I currently have a traditional Japanese environment, which would be better to add the greatest diversity in my portfolio? The last thing I want is to have too much of the same thing. I'm sort of stumped as to which of the two choices would be better to add to a portfolio.

Thanks so much!

Replies

• cholden
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    Variety is a more direct approach because it hits more targets. If you specialize in a style you have to be really good at it, and are more likely to only find work where that style is used. Showing a variety of examples (nature, urban, fantasy, sci-fi) increases your value to more employers. This is the same for game engines. As in, if one piece is presented in UDK, the next one is Crytech, and so on.
  • Will Faucher
    Offline / Send Message
    I get what you mean. See, I'm not trying to specialize in a style per se, I'm just trying to get a few different styles. For my school portfolio, I'll only have time to finish 2 environments. Which is why I was asking which would be best to start next.
  • Kwramm
    Offline / Send Message