Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP~Tanto Style Knife

I am doing a concept on a tanto style knife. I want some c&c on it. This is my first try at hand painting a knife so please tell me all my flaws. I feel the blade could be a bit more shiny but I know a lot of tactical knives like this are dull except the blade. I think it feels a bit like stone though. I went with a 550 paracord wrap on the handle. I plan on doing a 3d version of it and hand painting that as well.

TantoKnife.jpg

Replies

• KyleJensen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KyleJensen polycounter lvl 12
    I think it should be decorated. It's mundane right now.
  • Steve Schulze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steve Schulze polycounter lvl 18
    Isn't a tanto a traditional japanese parrying dagger, like a very small katana?
  • Krazy8
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Shad0wForce How should it be decorated? I'm going for a knife being used in the field as you could say. I do admit though it is kinda of bland I just don't know what to add.
    @Jackablade Yes the Tanto is but there are knife designs available now with the tanto STYLE. It is a very popular design.
    Wild%20Weasel.jpg
    I think the one thing i can do is maybe raise the blade up and maybe add something on the top part of the knife.
  • Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    I think you should go with just a wrap over the tang, and drop the darkgrey part.

you'll end up with something like this or that last ref you showed. Which are more sturdy designs, because there's less parts. You might also notice that both these refs show a lot larger angled part (over half) then your concept (about 1/5th) so maybe that's an idea.

On the concept, what's killing the metal and making it look like stone? The linework.
    Your drawing is made up of many short strokes, making the edges look rough, like rock.

tanto_blade.jpg