Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] Steve Olszewski / 3D Modeling

Hey all, new to these forums, found them via the Big Huge Games' website and figured I would get started. I am a recent graduate from the University of Dayton with a BFA in Visual Communication Design. The work I've seen so far on this site is incredible and I aspire to reach the level many of you have already. I currently don't have my own website to show my work, but I've uploaded my demo reel here http://olszewsm.blip.tv . My current goal is to land a Junior modeling position / internship somewhere out there. I've been using 3D Studio Max for about two years now, and am attempting to break into MAYA / Zbrush in my free time.

Any critiques would be a great help, I look forward to taking part in this community as well as hopefully teach someone out there a trick or two.

Replies

• PredatorGSR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PredatorGSR polycounter lvl 14
    Some suggestions:

1. You need a website
    2. Don't show wip stuff, especially something that is barely even started.
    3. This is a forum that is primarily dedicated to game art, and none of your work is close to being game art. The meshes on your assets are unnecessarily dense, and use a lot of procedural textures and effects instead of any of the techniques that are used for game art.
    4. To be honest, your work looks very beginner level, and something that would be done in a modeling 1 class. You need professional quality work before you should expect to hear back from legitimate companies, even for entry level jobs or internships.
    5. It doesn't seem like you have started to learn how to texture, which is something that is required for the majority of modeling positions, whether it is for environments or characters.

This probably comes off as pretty harsh, but I'm not sure how else to say it.

If you are interested in learning game art, the polycount wiki is a good place to start. http://wiki.polycount.net/