Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Environment Work

Hi everyone,

been browsing these forums for awhile now. Thought I would make a post and hopefully get some tips on how to improve. I'm in my last semester of post-grad college for 3d art. I am doing environments for game's.

Any good/bad comments you can make will be most appriciated. So I know what i'm doing right and wrong.

Thank you for taking the time to view my work.

SawchukDavid_Daytime.jpg

SawchukDavid_Night.jpg

This one is a work in progress. I still have texture tweaks to do.. but had to hand this in for this latest semester as it was.

SawchukDavid_Prison.jpg

3d Game Environment Artist
www.davidsawchuk.com

Replies

• vofff
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    vofff polycounter lvl 10
    your two last pics are extremely dark.
  • Rurouni Strife
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rurouni Strife polycounter lvl 10
    I checked out your portfolio. First, you should probably redo your website. There are tons of threads and a few stickys about how they should look or the best way to make them. Second, I thought your WWII pieces were better than the ones you had up here. With the Japanese picture, the grass looks to be a Maya paint fx or something that was used to create it for the render. That won't fly in a game engine. Most grass is 2 intersecting planes or more. Your actual models in all three works look pretty good, what hurts them I think are your textures. It seems that some of your textures are procedural and created in the 3D package? It's most noticeable on the sewer image on your site.

Look at a lot of the WIP threads here, and search for Adam's Evil Genius Base project on these forums. It's a great starting point for learning a lot about pretty much everything. Good luck on your revisions and job search!
  • pliang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pliang polycounter lvl 17