Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Mauser SP66

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Revel interpolator
Hi guys, this would be my second post in Polycount..I dont know whether anyone saw my first post on the "What are you working on 2010 edition" thread, since every first post will delayed 1 - 2 days..

Anyway, I'm working on the high poly weapon model, Mauser SP66 sniper rifle..I guess every boys who do 3D has already create a gun in one point of their life! :poly121:

So here goes!

Frame 01
wip01h.jpg

Frame 02
wip02q.jpg

Frame03 - Love to add some characteristic to my work :)
wip03.jpg

Frame 04
wip04.jpg

Frame 05
wip05.jpg

And here are some wire shots
wire01.jpg
wire02.jpg

I have to say thanks for Racer445 (I know you're there buddy..heheh) for his great tutorials on the complete weapon creation. It teach me a lot about texture creation, well this is my first attempt on doing a full texture creation from scratch.

Comments and suggestions will be much appreciated, since I'm not too sure about the diffuse quality and specular map stuff.

Cheers
_Revel

Replies

• P442
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    P442 polycounter lvl 8
    the metal looks pretty good, but the wood needs some work. Its good you have passion for modeling, but your weapon is too high poly. I would recommend looking at some tutorials for high to low poly baking, or weapon creation from scratch tutorials.
  • wasabi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Certain parts of the wood texture seem to be stretched.
    And...Yeah.. Like P442 said it is way too high in poly..
  • pliang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pliang polycounter lvl 17
    Not bad at all, but the wood seems like it could use a little slight variation and some specular work.
  • Revel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Revel interpolator