Home Technical Talk

3D Noob alert! UV Texturing and Normal mapping

Hi guys, I'm new here~ I think you'll see me around here more often, I've tried searching for a thread to help me with my question - but I can't find any, so...

I'm pretty new to the world of 3D - at university we are using Maya.

So I just don't understand normal mapping - I know what it does, and I do know what it is...but how do you texutre one?

I know you're not supposed to paint and texture a normal map - but for example, I've created a low poly plane for a floor and the normal mapping did work, I've exported the normal map into CrazyBump and made some other maps, but my question is how do I texture / UV map this? I'm doing a block floor/brick example - how will I know where the bricks are in the low poly uv? If this makes sense...

Sorry, I'm finding difficulty on what to write....

For example, if I had a low poly box and I wanted to make it look like it had cracks and more depth to it, I'd create a high poly version of the box and create a normal map from it...but how do I paint/texture that in photoshop to make sure it is correct? Would I UV map the high poly box or the low poly... I presume with normal mapping you have already know what texture / paint you're going to apply?

Sorry if I'm not making sense :( .....

I'm currently making a floor and I've made the normal map on the low poly and it works great I've taken it in Crazy bump and made other maps...but how the hell do I texture it!?

Gah!

Thanks guys.

Just an example of what I'm working with - how would I texture this in photoshop:

2lukxv.jpg

Replies

• pumbaa
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pumbaa polycounter lvl 15
    I'll try to give you an answer:
    As far as I know there are three typical workflows when it comes to normal mapping