Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

M2 Browning

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
16bit polycounter lvl 13
Hi, I'm new to polycount, for the longest people have told me to come here, but the main page has said under construction for like 2 years. I just realized there was a forum.

I'm making this gun for a UDK game. I'm not very experienced at texturing at all, and I'd like to have it critiqued.

1.jpg?t=1270930044

I tried to keep the polygon count close to 2k since you will never actually get this close to the gun. It will be attached to a car that is viewed from 3rd person.
2.jpg?t=1270930045
Wireframe

4.jpg?t=1270930045'
Here is the ammo can, I haven't started to texture it yet, all it has is the AO with a green shade applied to it.
The bullet belt is just 1 bullet texture that is tiled about 30 times on a 2d plane. I did this so it's easier to animate in UDK. plus with the guard thing over it keeps it from looking too obvious. Neither are textured yet.

3.jpg?t=1270930046
Here is the uv for the gun
I'm using a 2048x1024 texture for the gun
and 512x128 for the bullet.

Texture advice would be awesome.

Replies

• JonConley
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JonConley polycounter lvl 8
    16bit wrote: »

I tried to keep the polygon count close to 2k since you will never actually get this close to the gun. It will be attached to a car that is viewed from 3rd person.
    Here is the uv for the gun
    I'm using a 2048x1024 texture for the gun
    and 512x128 for the bullet.

Texture advice would be awesome.

If you will never be close to the gun and kept it at such a low tri count there is no reason for a 2048x2048 map, MAYBE 1024 but could probably sit well with a 512 with no problem.
  • GarageBay9
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GarageBay9 polycounter lvl 13
    Yep - a 2nd tier asset that's only worth 2k polys isn't worth nearly as much detail as you're putting into it.