Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Steampunk Soldier WIP.

Here is a high poly model of a game character that is one of the cast for the game that is my final year project on the games design course. Low poly version will be importend into Unreal3 Engine.
sjKYYl.jpg
JR3zWl.jpg
BsD28l.jpg
Zm7Zjl.jpg
As I'm relatively new to the game art (no profesional experience) any comments and critique would be greately appreciated.

Replies

• GarageBay9
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GarageBay9 polycounter lvl 13
    All those hanging wires are going to... well, they're not going to work. Not without a whole load of extraneous bones, baked dynamics, and a load of extra polys.

I would suggest restraining them in bundles that are kept tied close against the character. That's going to be the only feasible way to depict them without going seriously overboard
  • Helixx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Helixx polygon
    I totally agree with GarageBay9, those loose wire are either going to be a huge pain in the butt or are gonna look like garbage. I suggest the same, make them into bundles of wires(so that you can use bigger tubes as low-poly) and keep them close to the body so it's easier on the animators.

Also the wrists/hands look really flat and the head seems a tad short or compressed when you look at it from the side view. His eyes don't look like they would be in the right spot in his head if they could see out the holes in the mask.
  • achillesian
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    super thin wires and things like this i think would be added into the engine later, like in the source engine they do ropes and tentacles with a vector, instead of an actual mesh, or in wow bow strings are just a line drawn by the engine between two points, no geometry.
  • shiro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey.