Home Technical Talk

Head UV Layout

Hello,

Is this a good UV Layout for a head?

Head.jpg?t=1269875263

The character is a low poly real time model, so he won't have any facial animation.

Thanks for any tips or comments!

Replies

• Tom Ellis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm not an expert at character unwrapping, and without seeing your model I can't say for 100% certain, but I would expect to see a lot of texture distortion along the top and back of the head with that layout.

Two things I'd suggest, firstly, did you use pelt mapping? If not, try it and you should get a better result along the centre seam, and secondly, if your character is gonna have a symmetrical face texture then you could split that layout down the middle and mirror it.

People with more experience will be able to offer better advice but those're my two cents.
  • Mr. Bean
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ah, you're right; with a checker texture applied there is awful distortion on the top of the head, but I hadn't known how to fix this. I'll take your advice and mirror the UVs.

I'll give pelt mapping a shot, but I haven't used it much before.

Thanks! :)
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey look a polar bear in a snow storm!

Kidding aside:
    The areas that are sucking up the most texture space are the least important areas. It can be helpful to relax the important areas, and minimize/stretch the unimportant areas giving you room for the face and other stuff, like eyes, teeth, mouth, tongue. Also keep in mind that since this isn't animated you could probably stuff this on the body sheet, maybe even mirroring the face...
  • yiannisk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    yiannisk polycounter lvl 14
    Try this,

Cut the head in the back (create UV seams that is) all the way up towards the top of the head pretty much like you did.
    Use Pelt mapping to get a more natural and even spread of the head surface.