Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP - Horseman Death

Hello everyone!

I'm new to game art, characters and Zbrush, this is my first serious attempt to create something with it, technically learning how these things work. I was greatly inspired by the Darksiders concepts of Paul Richard and Joe Mad and decided to try creating horseman Death. Here you can see him:
http://autodestruct.com/ds_characters.htm

Comments and crits are welcome!

19646_l.jpg

Replies

• Baj Singh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Baj Singh polycounter lvl 9
    Nice work. Love the way the cloth folds at the feet.

Crit:

* Implement more of these folds around the neck scarf. It looks like you have started to so this definately needs finishing.

* The transition between the upper and lower arms looks dodgy. I think it might be where you've tried to implement gloves.
    Make the ends of these more obvious and it might be worth getting rid of the definition of the muscle down the forearm.
    How tight are the gloves supposed to be? Muscle defining tight material or tough leather that is more rigid.

Good luck.
  • madmuffin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    madmuffin polycounter lvl 7
    Maybe it's just the angle but I remember his face being longer/narrower, liking the detail on everything else so far though.
  • gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    this is my first serious attempt to create something with it

lawl...your joking right?

Looks interesting so far. I really digged Darksiders so I'll keep an eye on this one. Do you plan to make a low poly version and bake it down? Or just work in hi-res?
  • haikai
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    haikai polycounter lvl 8
    This is certainly way better than MY first attempts. :)

It could probably use some more exaggeration in the shapes and angles to fit the Darksiders style- maybe a little too smooth and curvy right now. The nipples seem a little too close together.