Home Technical Talk

Any tips for painting skin/muscle definition?

Hey all,

I'm currently working on a character for which I wanna use painted textures as oppose to photo sourcing.

I'm just curious as to how best to know where muscles etc are to paint correct values. Lighter on raised areas, darker in creases etc.

While I've never done a hand painted skin texture before, I guess I always assumed the AO map would help. I've done an AO bake however and in this case, while it's definitely a great help for the clothing creases/seams, there's not enough to clearly see muscle definition.

So are there any common tips/techniques to knowing where to paint muscles?

I'm guessing there's a better way than simply knowing how the topology looks in certain areas.

Many thanks

Replies

• Mr. Bean
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    https://shop.3dtotal.com/index.php?cPath=28_31

Good tutorial where the skin/muscles etc. are hand painted in.
  • Tom Ellis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cheers Mr. Bean,

I've actually got that tutorial, and forgot it covered hand painting!

Thanks for the reminder.

Although that's on a character that doesn't have normal maps so there's no sculpted muscle so to speak, I want to paint the muscle values to match where they are sculpted on my mesh if you see what I mean.
  • divi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    divi polycounter lvl 12
    did you light your model yet to see if you even need to paint in any shadows?
    you could increase the spread in the AO bake so it picks up more dark, but generally if there's no dark in the ao bake, then there'd probably be no dark there in reality.
  • Tom Ellis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the reply Divi.

I haven't properly lit my model yet but that's a good point. I just stuck a DX shader on it in Max to check out the bake.