Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Texturing Project, Mr. Smiles: Please Critique!

Hello again everyone. My name is Brice Anderson and I am a recent grad from the Art Institute of Portland, focus in animation.

A while back I made a thread for the creation of my Mr.Smiles character, since then he has been rigged and I have already done several animations using him.

http://www.briceanderson.com/mrsmilesModel.html

I decided I needed cycling attack game style animations both with a firearm and a melee weapon. So I modeled a machete and sheath and replaced his left pistol with it. I am now texturing him so the character is actually finished before I start pumping out animations for my portfolio.

Here is where I need your guys' help! :)

While I can texture just fine, I am not specifically a texture artist so I am looking to get some good critiques and advise so my textures turn out as good as possible!

This is just a quick dirty color study sketch of what I have in mind for his textures.

SketchColor.jpg
I am going to texture the model with the normal map on it in photoshop cs4's 3d mode.

Replies

• Warhamster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I already got the critique that the face on his mid section is not really noticeable, so I tried adding some simple eyes in the paint job to emphasize this.

SketchColor03.jpg

-Edited the head size, I made the head too large first time I modeled him too hahaha. Thanks for the critiques!
  • Ged
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator
    his head is quite large and proportions in general make him appear to be about 12 years old or so, its a fairly memorable armour design though, keep at it
  • griffinax
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    My head screams: POWER RANGERS!
    cool concept! :)
    + what Ged said.
  • Warhamster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message