Home Technical Talk

Baked Vs unbaked animation

I heard someone refer to MD2 files as having "baked" animation.

Now I have no knowledge of rigged animation, but I can only assume that baked animation means that there are complete lists of vertex positions per frame, basically rendering the bones redundant, so you'd only have to import the vertex positions, and not the bone data. Is that about correct?

And presumably, un baked animation would export the bones, along with the bone positions per frame, and each bone would control vertices within a certain proximity of it?

I'm just guessing, but logically, that's what I assume.

If that's the case, can I also assume that baked animation would be more appropriate for very low poly stuff (ie DS level polycounts) ?

If my assumptions are correct, baked animation would require less processing, but more ram, compared to unbaked bone animation.

But with high poly stuff, models containing say 25,000 vertices or more, having a complete list of vertex locations per frame would be a LOT of data, and pretty RAM heavy. So I'm imagining that the extra load on the processor for processing bone animation would be the preferred option.

For my needs, baked animation seems like the more attractive option, but are there are disadvantages I should know about apart from RAM usage?

Cheers,
RumbleSushi

Replies

• locus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message