Home Technical Talk

Metaball Modeling

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
ralusek polycounter lvl 10
I have no idea why I've never tried this before, it's really fun. I was just messing around at first, but now I'm starting to enjoy myself.

It's not revolutionary or anything, especially if you have access to Zsketch, but you do have a lot of control. I'm gonna put a timelapse up later, because I think it's rad.

Anybody use this?

Replies

• ralusek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    alright here is an example. after playing around with this, i decided i'm gonna include it in my next tutorial briefly, because there are a lot of interesting functions worth noting. here is the basic principle though:

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vGapGt25U3U[/ame]

don't know why i've never seen it
  • Slum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slum polycounter lvl 18
    Looks like it generates a rather unusable topology (for sculpting anyway). I suppose you could use this for blocking -> retopo -> sculpt. but at that point, might as well use zbrush anyway?
  • ralusek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    not a new feature nope, it's actually really old. i just don't hear about people using it. metaballs are primarily used for effects, from what i understand, things like lava lamps or amoebas, just weird stuff.

and slum, the topology isn't useless at all, it's actually pretty comparable to zbrush's unified skins. i just tried sculpting on a few of them and it works totally fine. but yes, the principle is that if you need to, you just retopo right after, it's just a cool way of concepting.

i'm making another video showing how you can make tubes and scale them etc, because it's a lot more effective than just messing around with the balls
  • Willburforce
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    meatballs? zbrush does this surely?
  • Vrav
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vrav polycounter lvl 11