Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Zooch

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Zooch polycounter lvl 9
Brief background:

I started modeling about 3 weeks ago and have been bouncing between a few personal projects and stepping through the various modeling vids from Eat3D. I'm also new to Unreal, but my goal is to get all my models and textures set up within the engine. Needless to say, the work shown here is more for criticism than showing off. I would appreciate technical or artistic feedback as I continue to model and texture. With that said, my first complete model + texture as seen from inside the UDK:

261 Polys, 2x512 maps (diffuse and normal)

My times (In work days, not 24-hour days):
Modeling: 4 hours
UV Mapping: 1 day
Texturing: 1 day

lamptest4.jpg

lampdiffuse03.jpg

Replies

• A.Kincade
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    A.Kincade polycounter lvl 9
    Not bad. You got wireframes?
  • Zooch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zooch polycounter lvl 9
  • A.Kincade
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    A.Kincade polycounter lvl 9
    You could probably cut out a few of the loops on the part at the bottom of the holder, where as the two above it are squared out. Not a major issue tho.
  • SHEPEIRO
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SHEPEIRO polycounter lvl 17
    my main cocern in the asset you have made is the scratches and wear dont look real, or more importantly, convincing at all, they look "gamey" and by that i maen done without reference to the real world, lamps do not get this sort of damage without the bulb going, no one would subject a lap/light to this much consistant damage, it needs dust and grime not scratches
  • Zooch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zooch polycounter lvl 9