Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP Sewing Machine

Old fashioned WIP American Girl sewing machine. It's my first try at hi-poly, and I'm rather new at modeling.

Please, if there's any advice you can give me, go ahead and shoot! I need all the help I can get.

sewingmachine2render.jpg

sewingmachine1render.jpg

--

EDIT:

Update. Here's the new version of the model. I added some flourishes here and there, according to some suggestions made by my teacher. I am in the process of building my low poly, at the moment, but changes can be made to the high poly, so if you have any suggestions, please feel free to give them.

sewingmachinerendercopy.jpg

Here's the ref.

PICT0031.jpg

Replies

• Ott
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ott polycounter lvl 13
    A long way to to go, especially considering I modeled the hardest parts so far. Looking for feedback 12 hours before class won't do you a lot of good....

Step 1 - Look at the ref. Look at your model. Then attempt to make yours look more like the ref.

All of the top details are missing, your ref is much rounder along the base pieces, the proportions are way off as well. The front silver metal plating is more rectangular than yours. The ref is also a bit taller than yours.

At the very least, block in ALL of the shapes first to get a feel for proportions, and then start tackling the high poly.

Having a wireframe would help too, so edge suggestions could be made.
  • kakimari
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • raul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    raul polycounter lvl 11
    its getting there. Id say that you go back and stick to the reference. Im not sure which one is the update one. ( i assume is the one before the reference ) It seems like you are adding objects that are not in the reference. is there a purpose to that?

You cant just bevel your edges and call it a day. Add the required edges to make your stuff more solid.