Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP Raided Village

This is an old map I'm bringing back to see if i can't fix it up nice. I'm a Level Designer for the most part but that doesn't the levels can look bad. Most of the models are made by other people that worked with me on this level i was just hoping to get some feedback on the look of the terrain and the overall feel of the level but if you guys have any other feedback, please feel free to post it. Anything at all will help. Remember this is a work in progress and is not finished yet.

http://img171.imageshack.us/i/pic4id.jpg/
http://img175.imageshack.us/i/pic3n.jpg/
http://img251.imageshack.us/i/pic2rxk.jpg/
http://img189.imageshack.us/i/pic1jk.jpg/

PS: Sorry about the links, I'll get new pics up soon.

Replies

• Soft_Hands
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It is difficult to tell what are roads or rocky hillsides. I suggest putting alot more snow to get rid of the honeycomb look.
  • brandoom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    brandoom polycounter lvl 13
    Hey another 'Ontarioan' :) Welcome to PC.

First thing that I noticed in this particular picture was that it looks like its underwater.. Not because of the of colors, but the way the snow and rock textures are intertwined.

Heres sort of what I mean.. the way the light hits the sea bed.

ocean33ws0230.jpg
    and yours.
    pic2rxk.jpg

Theres no reason really why the rock shouldn't be entirely covered in snow... unless, global warming. lol. I like the scene though. I wouldn't mind seeing some bushes or shrubs and maybe some wolf pelts among other random stuff.

Looking forward to an update :)
  • NoChance
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I have to completely agree with brandoom I saw the picture and I was like "oh it's underwater" then I read his post... it's not underwater...
  • felipefrango
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    felipefrango polycounter lvl 9