Home Technical Talk

I have a quick question about sub-d modelling.

Hello,

I'm new to the 3d modeling world, last time i even touched anything with 3ds max was before December of 09 was modeling and Audi a3 i believe.

Past few days I've read what seems like hundred of threads and on here I've been seeing people talk about sub-d modeling, what exactly is sub-d modeling? How do you go about doing it? Whats the different to normal polygon modeling( i believe that's what its called I'm not sure.

Another thing any tips or anything for someone who's just starting out in the 3d world?

P.s Sorry if this is in the wrong area I just haven't found anything that has answered my question or I've just over looked it and didn't see it.

Regards,
Broshears

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Typically what people refer to as "sub-d modelling" around these parts (whether technically correct or not) is just polygon modelling with modifiers like Turbosmooth (3dsmax) or polySmooth (maya) applied to "subdivide" and smooth out the result.
  • Calabi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Calabi polycounter lvl 12
    Yeah, I got confused with this. Its like an oxymoron, no one really does sub-d modelling, they just model something then they subdivide it.
  • Cyrael
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cyrael polycounter lvl 10
    well. you learn something new everyday. I though everyone was referenceing modeling with sub-div primatives in maya - guess I'm been sub-d modeling all along. So don't feel like too much of a moron. I've been modeling in 3d for about 2 years now and this definition eluded me until today. thanks for clearing that up MoP.
  • Broshears
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alright thanks :) and I'm sure this is also asked a lot any good quality tutorials or articles out there to help a "newbie" out?
  • MRico
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MRico polycounter lvl 10