Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need some Crits...(Noobie Warning)

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Billz polycounter lvl 6
Hey guys, I am pretty new to 3D art, I just started dabling in it last month. I'm in a Game Development program and we're getting into modelling and animation basics. I'm pretty decent for never having touched 3ds max before, and I really love messing with the tools. My firs coupleof assignments we're kind of easy, modelling a living room, bowl of fruit, axe, thins of that nature. I tried my first ever character model using the box modelling method. Was wondering if you guys could give me some advice, or let me know if I'm even doing it right at all. Anyway, here is what I got so far.

nightscralwer.jpg

tsnightscralwer.jpg

nightcrawlermodelsheet.jpg

I did the arms and head seperate and welded it on to the body, was that the correct method? I am getting some anomolies near the edge of the pectorials where the nipple would be when I turbosmooth it, I am assuming it's due to some extra polygons or edges near the armpit. How much detail would you think I should try ading to the character before attempting to sculpt it? Also, how would you go about modelling the clothing? sorry for all the questions guys and gals, but I know you're the pros and I'm just here to soak up as much knowledge as I can. Thanks!

Replies

• Billz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Billz polycounter lvl 6
  • DrunkShaman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DrunkShaman polycounter lvl 14
    You need to remove edges, or relocate them before turning it in to sub-div. Actually it is better if you work in Subdiv with the cage turn on so you can fix it.

This model needs to be worked on.
    :)

For some reason It reminds me of my character that I am working on...=\ But than again its not the same idea so your are in the clean :D
  • Billz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Billz polycounter lvl 6