Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Alex Gonzales wips desert Sniper

Hello this is my first time posting a wip.

Im working on this desert crossbow sniper character and i need some feedback before i begin to model this, he is going to be my first zbrush sculpt so i want him o be really cool. Any quick comments would be super welcome thanks.

tgback2.jpg:)

Replies

• natetheartist
    Offline / Send Message
    natetheartist polycounter lvl 9
    its hard to critique something you haven't started yet, but if this is your first zbrush model, I'd choose something a little simpler.

Also, i'm not sure if this is your concept or not, but (personally) I think the helmet is ruining what could be a very cool character. It just seems like it's trying too hard, especially with the bright yellow "eye" things. A color change could help, but right now, the head is hurting the design.

The crossbow design is pretty cool though. I think the bipod needs to be slightly more frontmouned though, but maybe not depending on the weight of the stock.
  • Rojo
    This is going to be hard for your first sculpt. You may want to double check your proportions, the legs look too long and the arms look too short.

From a design standpoint, why is a sniper wearing flashy colors, particularly in a barren landscape? The helmet is holding back the rest of the wardrobe. The armor/equipment feels like clutter, if this is a respirator, how is it working attached to the neck, and does this allow the head much mobility? Why wear hood in the desert? Where is the holster for the crossbow bolts?

It's coming along, keep at it. The weapon looks solid.
  • alexgonzales
    tgback5.jpg

here are some refinments, thanks for the great comments, ill work them out in the next pass.:)
  • ZacD
    Online / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    The crossbow concept looks better and makes more sense.
  • jmiles
    Offline / Send Message
    jmiles interpolator