Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Thompson Sub Machinegun

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
duoxan polycounter lvl 17
Its a Thompson 1928 m1a1 sub machine gun so let me know if anything stands out to be changed. I hope to get the low done today or tomorrow and then textured and finished by the end of the week.

myah.jpg

Replies

• duoxan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    so i finished the low, all though things got in the way so it took me longer then i wanted :(

myah2.jpg

i baked the normal from it in max, and i get these weird ridges on the stock and barrel, you can see it in the texture below (ive been trying to blend them out)
    any idea on how to fix this/what im doing wrong? any help is appreciated!

nrm_org.jpg
  • MikeF
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MikeF polycounter lvl 19
    looks pretty good, i'm no gun expert tho so i'm not sure about the design.
    Looks like the stock and handle could use a few more edge loops on the highpoly, kinda rough rite now.

As for the ridges, it could be an issue with your smoothing groups, i'm not sure what the max equivalent is to soften edge normals like in maya, but i'd say try putting the low's normals all in one group?

a max user might be able to shed some more light on that one
  • duoxan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    figured it out, im a tard lol.
    NOW im getting flipped normals, here it is in marmoset, with a base texture and no spec yet. some but not all of the normals i overlapped are not inverted like you can see on the stock.

myah3.jpg

any ideas on how to fix this?
  • Godemper0r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    duoxan wrote: »
    figured it out, im a tard lol.
    NOW im getting flipped normals, here it is in marmoset, with a base texture and no spec yet. some but not all of the normals i overlapped are not inverted like you can see on the stock.
    any ideas on how to fix this?