Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Beastman WIP

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
waronmars polycounter lvl 17
Hi there,

I'm an animator, but I want to be able to model too :)

I love warhammer and they just released the new beastmen, so I made a model of one...

Any criticism appreciated.

It's pretty much finished modelling wise, but I still want to tweak some edge loops and shapes.

beastman.jpg

Also you can see my site at http://www.flamingpaper.com

Replies

• Harry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Harry polycounter lvl 13
    you gunna go for a sculpt on this or lowpoly only?
  • cholden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
  • almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    awesome stuff, i'm a big warhammer fan myself, and i've been painting/sculpting the minis since i was 9.

the one thing i'd say at the moment is that his silouhette is awfully small. beastmen with full horned heads are Gors, they're usually the head of the pack under doombulls, and their physical size and strength is massive. with that in mind i'd suggest bulking up his arms to match the broadness of his shoulders, and maybe try to add some emphesis to the chest, while scaling the head up just a tad.
    the hands could do with being double the thickness/size too.

only minor changes =]
  • Baj Singh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Baj Singh polycounter lvl 9
    I would say exaggeration is definitely going to be key here. As almighty_gir pretty much said, he needs to look very powerful and bulky. I would also consider making his legs slightly longer, with an emphasis on bulking up his thighs. Make him look considerably intimidating by making him look taller.

Good luck.
  • waronmars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    waronmars polycounter lvl 17
    @harry