Home General Discussion

State of the Industry: Why you should or should not give up.

Replies

• Justin Meisse
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    And since I have no industry experience, no company is going to pay for me to relocate.

Have you been told this or are you just assuming? I felt the same way when I started out but companies still seem seem to be offering relocation packages. Remember, the bonus of a junior artist is that you're cheap.
  • Richard Kain
    Offline / Send Message
    Richard Kain polycounter lvl 18
    Have you been told this or are you just assuming?

Okay, you got me, I'm just assuming that. It's probably more of a matter of me not being very confident in my current portfolio. I don't think think any out-of-state company is going to want to pay for me to relocate after looking at my sub-par portfolio. Also, given my work experience, they would be far more likely to hire me as a web developer or UI coder than as a game artist.
  • Justin Meisse
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    this is the positive thread soldier! stop being a cry baby and start being a try baby!

Your portfolio is just 2 3d wips! Get 6 or more finished pieces in there, pronto!

exclamation point!
  • DarthNater
    Offline / Send Message
    DarthNater polycounter lvl 10
    A: What positive keeps you in this career or wanted career? Even with all the doom and gloom.

-
    When I pop in any game Epic or Bethesda created, I think, someday, I could make something this cool...

- I've been programming for like 8 to 9 years now (on and off) and I need the art to expand my creative side. I still love to program, but after my brain melts, the art pulls it all back together :) It's hard switching from technical thinking to creative thinking sometimes....