Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Looking for Website critique

Officially I graduated a few months ago with a focus on high res character modeling. Since then I've been trying to build a portfolio that's more relevant to game art. Here's what I have right now:

www.psycosmworlds.com

Right now I have a "finished" section that isn't really tailored to game art, and works in progress section that isn't, well, finished. (Some pieces of it are close but I'm not sure how to go about showcasing them.)

Thoughts on the overal layout and on any individual pieces would be appreciated.

Replies

• Firebert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Firebert polycounter lvl 15
    take 45 minutes and listen to this

http://boards.polycount.net/showpost.php?p=1019462&postcount=74

subscribe to the podcast. they are all very helpful, informative, and entertaining.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This should be your main page: http://www.psycosmworlds.com/gallery.html
    This needs to go: http://www.psycosmworlds.com/gallery3.html
    This needs to be finished: http://www.psycosmworlds.com/gallery1.html

You need breakdown shots along with beauty shots. People need to know how it was made, look at texture sheets and see how you unwrapped things.

I think you need to separate your portfolio from your Work In Progress bloggy type things. It seems like you want to start up a one man production house but also want a portfolio, that is a bit of a conflict of interests.
    "Is this guys work going to suffer because he has a bunch of side projects going?"
    "Is he going to do outside work on company time?"
    Get yourself a blog and stick all that stuff there, keep your portfolio simple and too the point.

I think it would help if you decided on a discipline: environment modeling, character modeling, or animation and build your portfolio around that.
  • Goat Justice
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Goat Justice polycounter lvl 10