Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modular Chinese Art Deco

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
jacob07777 polycounter lvl 14
Hey guys, so this is my first attempt and making a building out of a certain amount of modular chunks. Hopefully this will allow me to build multiple buildings out of these few pieces I've made. Anyways I got most everything working correctly, but when I go to mirror the chunks in UDK they seem to turn a greyish color. Here are some screens, any suggestions?

Here are my max renders for what the building is supposed to look like
Final_04.jpg
Final_03.jpg
Final_02.jpg
Final_01.jpg

Then this is the In-game screenshot that I took in UDK
Final_05.jpg

You can see those two bottoms pieces changing colors slightly and the top left pieces, maybe a few of the other guys, but I couldn't figure it out. Maybe I just have to import a right and a left modular piece for it?

Replies

• A.Kincade
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    A.Kincade polycounter lvl 9
    Turned out really nice Jacob. That's weird its changing color. Yeah maybe try bringing in the right and left side together and see if it still does it. The max renders looked pretty legit so hopefully you can figure it out. Good work man.
  • LlamaJuice
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LlamaJuice polycounter lvl 11
    You're mirroring them in the UDK?

I've had problems with that where it looks like it reverses my normal map as well... so I'd assume that it's better to just make a separate static for it... but that's my take on it.

Someone else might be able to tell ye better though.

Anyhow, looking good so far :P
  • SnarG
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mirroring a static mesh in UE2 used to flip the mesh normals. I'm not sure if this is still the case with UE3 but there's a good chance that it is.

This looks damn cool btw; always love a bit of deco architecture.
  • 3DLee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message