Home Technical Talk

Need to buy a new PC, have no idea what to buy, assistance please!

Hey there all,

It's about time I bought a new PC... in fact it's way overdue. I've ashamedly been using a couple years old MacBook Pro running BootCamp for all my 3D work over the past year or so.

I predominantly did 2D graphics and a lot of music recording when I bought my MacBook, and at the time didn't use 3D apps at home at all.

I've just about managed fine up until now but my recent ventures into character work and ZBrush has left my computer struggling to say the least, I have to decimate sculpts almost beyond recognition to get Max to even move once they're imported and to be honest, it becomes almost useless.

Here's my problem... I have absolutely no idea about PC components. I've been using Macs for about 5 years now and lost track of the PC thing, I don't know what processors, graphics cards etc are even any good for work in 3D.

On top of this lack of knowledge, I'm gonna go for the self-build option just because I want to learn how to build a PC anyway so this would be a good place to start.

So if anyone could gimme a quick rundown on what components to go for etc that would be awesome.

My budget is a max £2000 (probably about $3-3500 taking into account the premium on UK prices / exchange rate) is this gonna get me a system that'll perform well with crazy sculpt polycounts in Max?

I don't need a display or mouse/keyboard so that budget will be purely on the components/case.

Also, could anyone recommend a good component shop site that is based in the UK?

Many thanks

Replies

• Clockwork
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Polygon counts in the millions will be a bitch taking into your 3D package on any workstation...

You have a nice budget, doubt you need to spend that much really, but if you really wanna go for it there's motherboards with support, for what, 96GB RAM now.