Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP - Let's call it Avalon for now

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Lord Fryingpan polycounter lvl 12
Allow me to introduce myself and explain my purpose :

I'm an animation student, soon to leave the school. Even though I learned 2d animation, I'm still doing a bit of 3d now and then.

I was looking for sample low polys models, and then found Polycount. You guys really mean buisness :).

What I'm trying to do is to start an amateur 3d fighting game. I do not expect to make an actual job out of this, just to have some fun aside of my "serious" work. Nonetheless, I'm willing to improve, so maybe a programmer or four would give me a hand on that.

avalon02.png

Belli+Taranis01.png

Belli+Taranis03.png

For information, the woman, Belisama, weights roughly 400 Tris and the man, Taranis, 300.

Textures still in progress, They need at least some shading or something.

Comments and knife twists in open "you're doing it wrong" wounds welcome.

BTW, the bulbs and neon heels of the girl are really lame, and transparency was defenitly a bad idea...

Replies

• MoP
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Hey, these are really cool, I like the solid texture style. Interesting proportions too.

The poses feel a bit "stiff" but I guess if you're going to animate them, that's not a problem.
  • Baj Singh
    Offline / Send Message
    Baj Singh polycounter lvl 9
    Texturing wise, I would consider bumping up the self illumination and maybe trying the ink and paint shader (if your using Max). It seems as though that stylized approach might showcase your models better rather than the default shading.
  • roosterMAP
    Offline / Send Message
    roosterMAP polycounter lvl 12
    interesting! i like the art stile. cant wait to see where this goes.
  • throttlekitty
    Love the style! Kind of a Lego look in a strange way The arms on the girl look a bit thin.
  • Mark Dygert