Home Technical Talk

Retopologizing for the beginner... is it more difficult than it seems?

Hey there,

So I've got a sculpt done in ZBrush for the character I'm working on and it's now time for the retopo.

I've never done a full character before, and therefore never attempted retopo before.

So I've fired up Topogun, imported my mesh, and now I'm just drawing polys out while retaining a decent loop flow, and erm... that's it.

Is it really just a case of drawing out polys? Or am I missing the point?

Sounds like a dumb question but it's kinda easy mode compared to building the original mesh.

Would iut be a good idea to follow a guide for face topology?

Thanks

Replies

• CompanionCube
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CompanionCube polycounter lvl 12
    the most important things to think about when retopo is to consider how the character will deform, how you are going to texture your model including seam placement, you tri budget, silhouette.
  • cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    Is it really just a case of drawing out polys? Or am I missing the point?
    Sounds like a dumb question but it's kinda easy mode compared to building the original mesh
    Re-toplogizing is awesome like that. Sometimes I even start my meshes with just blobs of random polygons and surface meshes to get the form down, and then retopologize that.
  • Neox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox godlike master sticky
    it's kinda easy mode compared to building the original mesh.

thats the point! no one stops you from doing it the "old" way, you could even start unwrapping without, pelt, relax etc. no one will stop you from that ;)

the thing is, you can concentrate on shapes before you concentrate on topology, shape is what counts way more in the creation phase, having a given topology will always move you into certain boundaries, which will force you to retopo anyways if you want to breack out
  • Tom Ellis
    Options