Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] - Paul Searle - Website Critique

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
searlee polycounter lvl 12
Hello all.

I'm new to Polycount, well by new I mean I've been observing for some time but I'm finally able to post.

(www.searlee.com)

A bit about myself can be found on the portfolio site however I'll write a bit here for those that do not want to go searching for it. I'm currently studying a BA(Hons) in Computer Games Modelling and Animation at the University of Derby, England. I'm in my second year but don't really have much to show as of yet because last year was an introduction to the industry with a more broad spectrum encompassing machinima production and design.

This year we are taking all of our work over from Maya into Z-Brush, Unreal 3/UDK and Gamebryo and working with the parallel course BSc(Hons) Computer Games Programming in order to create games in each of these media.

I'm the only one in my year to have created a full working portfolio website and I would like some critique on the site if it is not too much hassle.

I'd like to remind everyone that it isn't the content that I'm asking you to critique as I know it's a bit sparse and lacking in any real quality at the moment but just the website itself.

Thanks in advance.

Paul Searle

www.searlee.com

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Hey, not bad, the site is working pretty well. :)

I found navigation pretty easy. Although if it's a portfolio site I kinda wonder why you have that "main" page, and then also the "portfolio" page, since they have the same images on. I would probably just ditch the main page that it goes to ("home" - what is that actually for?) and just make the very first page be the Portfolio page so people get to all your art right away.