Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] [Low-Poly] Old 4-legged mecha with voodoo-ish flavor

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
9skulls polycounter lvl 13
The title seems to be plain gibberish, but I don't really know how else to describe it :/

Anyhow, I've always had this thing for 4-legged mechas, and being inspired by several RTS-games I wanted to give a try and make my own... In low poly, of course.

I had an idea of 4-legged mecha that would be bit of a mix of something techical and organic, so this design here represents a character which is basically made of some sort of wood, dark rock, leaves and an animal skull (which makes his body).

mbtfinal1.jpg

mbtfinal2.jpg

mbtfinal3.jpg

Please note that I'm still a total noob when it comes to 3d and character design so bear me with the flaws of this design :P

The texture is also WIP, there's only the main colors but more detail will come. I'm also trying to create a control-scheme with Unity, a bit similar to Diablo (point-n-click).

Here's a link for live-demo (please install the required Unity-webplayer as it is The Way To The Ultimate Awesomeness) :p

» http://white-isle.net/utest/mbt/

[ edit :: ]
As a sidenote, this started as an entry for the awesome 500-poly-thread, but as I progressed with the model and found the ideal design I wanted to achieve, I just trashed the 500 poly limit and let myself go, lol. Maybe I'll do something later that fits within 500 polys.

[ edit 2 :: ]
Damn, anybody know how to make 2 sided polys render correctly in Unity? (see how the wings are bugged..)

Replies

• AsaNYC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AsaNYC polycounter lvl 12
    Looks pretty neat! Can't wait to see where this goes.
  • 9skulls
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AsaNYC wrote: »
    Looks pretty neat! Can't wait to see where this goes.
    Thanks! I'm waiting for that aswell, lol.. :poly122:
  • System
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    System admin