Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First ever character- Egyptian Guard

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Will Faucher polycounter lvl 12
Hey! This is my first time posting a new thread here!
So I have been working on my first character lately. This one was done in about a day or so. I tried keeping this thing pretty low poly. I didn't want to exaggerate anything by putting too many edges everywhere.
This was done only in 3dsMax, and I'm not texturing it for now. So a high poly bake in mudbox/Zbrush won't be necessary.

The polycount of the actual character is 4392 tri's (I have other objects in the scene.)

I want your crits!

Here is the original concept that I based my character on:
EgyptManSmall2.jpg

And here is the character itself! :)
Frontview.jpg
Sideview.jpg

And here is the wireframe:
Wire.jpg

Thanks!

Replies

• AlanSMitchell
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AlanSMitchell polycounter lvl 14
    not bad for a first model. got your edge loops in the right places. May want to think about remodeling the headdress and or just modifying it to mach the reff closer. Also the character looks very boxy try pushing the silhouette of the character more. Overall great job keep posting.
  • Will Faucher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the crit! I agree, he is a bit boxy, but then again, I'm trying to keep it's tri-count as low as I can without sacrificing too much quality. I'll see to the headdress though.

Thanks again!

More crits welcome! :)
  • Andreas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Andreas polycounter lvl 11
    Boxy? I disagree. Proportions could use some work though.
  • Will Faucher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message