Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

ASQ, Awesome Space Quest

Hello fellow polycounters!
I'm a student from Sweden that studies at The Game Assembly. This is my seconds year at this school and we have just started producing 3D games. Last year we made four 2D games (posted Wings Of Steel last year as well).

Anyways, this friday we finished our first 3D game. This year we were assigned one group of 5 artist and 5 coders. We had 10 weeks to finish this game, the graphics engine was built by our coders and is built from scratch with the directx sdk. We used collada as mesh format. All code and all graphics is built from scratch using Visual studio (for code) and maya+photoshop for art.

During these 10 weeks we had lessons and assignments as usual.

As you probably understand i'm not a coder but a artist (so if anyone has any code questions i can't answer them but i can forward them to our coders).

Here is a few screenshots from the game and a link if you want to download and test it. There will be a trailer posted on youtube later on for the ones that can't play it (it is quite performance heavy and not that optimized).

1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg

And the game for those who want to try it out.
Awesome Space Quest

This game is not in anyway intended as a final product or sale product. Only as a educational project. Property of The Game Assembly.
loanWolf_logo.png

Replies

• Chclve
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here are some of the ships in the game. Our ingame showbox was a little wonky so I took some screens from marmoset instead.

Now play our game!!! :D

mediumship3pres.jpgsmallfighter1pres.jpg
  • odium
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    odium polycounter lvl 18
    I love the idea, and the HUD is a great way to make you feel in the game. However, two points hit me:

a) The HUD atm is rather dull, you have a lot of wasted blank space in the top left/right sides.