Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: mdale13

Hey everyone! I am a student at Springfield College, in Massachusetts, now in my final year, and am focusing on environmental/prop modeling/texturing. I have come to this focus by way of a few previous paths (lighting&rendering and character design), but have finally settled on environments and props! I plan to try and keep this sketchbook updated rather frequently, and I am certainly looking for any critiques/comments/suggestions/ideas any of you may have. Please do not sugarcoat your comments, I am looking to improve, and I am sure there is a multitude of information you all can share with me :thumbup:
So anyway, here is some of my more recent work.

Medieval House:
medievalhouse1.jpg

Replies

• Talbot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    welcome to polycount! where all your dreams come true.

you may want to post a [Portfolio] mdale13 thread in the Pimping section. I mean once you feel ready with your website.

Anyway I like the house!
  • Willburforce
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    welcome!

I like this house a lot... good work man, especially with the textures.

The roof ... is it too specular and uniform? Just a few slates come loose may help it. Are beams flat against the wall? UV on slates on side looks a bit stretched. (I could be totally wrong so pay less attention to me :)

Nice work!
  • mdale13
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thanks guys!

Willburforce- thanks! the stretched part is actually its own texture, its the boards on which roof tiles are added. but i agree about the roof. the house was originally build to be part of a modular housing set for a level we are building in class, but the idea was sort of scrapped.

here is some more recent work. this is pretty much where my past work cuts off, i will be updating real-time now, i just wanted to get some images up for you guys to look at:

Medieval Tower (to be added on next to the previously posted house)