Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Handpainting Sword Questions

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
ralusek polycounter lvl 10
texturequestion.jpg

Hey really sorry to even post this here. It's so far behind the texturing i see here, i was embarassed to even ask. This is my first try at anything outside of polypainting...and honestly this is my first UV map (aside from a head).

My question is, after barely starting...where should i start :D? Does anyone have a phenomenal reference for handpainting textures? Great books or tutorials?

What I've done so far is an ambient occlusion bake (i know UV choice scattered shadow near hilt, that's fine). Then I overlayed a few metal textures, and started highlighting. It looks fucking terrible though, and I really need a better foundation before jumping into something like this.

What really would be great is some way to set materials/specular and bake THAT. Then all my highlights/shadows would totally be done for me, and i could just worry about detail and texture. Does anyone know of a good way to do this in Blender/3d coat?

I also have zbrush available, if i could potentially get a better bake from that?

Any examples of workflow for handpainting low polies would be awesome. Like I said, all I've been doing recently is modeling (so this whole texture deal is brand new to me).

Replies

• ralusek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    it's worth mentioning i ONLY started on the top section on the blade, and didn't even finish that. i hope you weren't thinking you'd waste your time helping me :D. i will put all advice to very good use, i just wanted to stop fiddling if i could find a better foundation
  • Slash
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slash polycounter lvl 19
    I'd work more on getting a solid understanding of the form, and paint that. Worry about texture overlays later. Are you painting the lighting info in the sword?
  • ralusek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message