Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

topology critique

I'm working on my cookie cutter topology system, which in form has been working out amazingly.
will_deform.jpg

i haven't added topology for retaining volume on the elbows and the knees but i'm wondering if the shoulder/ crotch areas have the propper edge loops to move well in all directions (without shredding or insane streching....also known as shredding...)with very straightforward vertex weighing (each loop has the same weight all around and the weights gradient evenly between loops as they move between envelopes)

i'm not good with rigging at all and i think i might just use the biped being it already has twists set up and my head explodes if i have to script.

anyways...let me know how easy this thing looks to set up.
and if you have suggestions to make it more idiot proof (since i am an idiot) feel free to give them.

Replies

• myles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    myles polycounter lvl 13
    I don't know much about characters but, I'd suggest you try to even out your loops a bit more, at the moment they are all grouped together in certain area's. I also suggest finding some reference. Here is some good topolgy wireframe I found.
    Sorry if this wasn't what you were asking for crit on, I'm not 100% sure what you were asking for.
  • DoomiVox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    to clear it up, i'm asking whether or not this model has proper deformation edgeloops in the right places (shoulder and crotch in this case) not a really on a sculptural level (being it doesnt have anything partway down the forearm of tibia).

what you're seeing is my humanoid animation topology base, i'm working it out ahead of time so it can simply be applied attop all my humanoid models so i don't have to worry about motion and i can just sculpt as i want so long as i keep those edgeloops in tact.