Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: wasabimilkshake

Hi. I'm a student, and I'm currently taking a class in environment art using UT3. I'm actually not planning on going into environment art, but my great-grandddaddy didn't lose a leg fighting the Kaiser with his bare hands so I could slack off and make half-assed art just because it's "not my thing." As such, I'd deeply appreciate any criticisms you folks can offer.

Well, then, let me start with the most boring and conventional prop imaginable.

st_crate_large_01.jpg
st_crate_large_02_flats.jpg

It's a crate. A wooden crate. The top face (the one with the crossbeam) is unique, and the rest overlap in places since it's only possible to see 4 of the side faces at any given time. I've kind of been struggling with UV space vs. unique texture space, because I'm normally all about efficiency, and because I've been baking normal maps from high-poly meshes, which can get messy quickly if you have to deal with symmetry.

st_crate_small_01.jpg
st_crate_small_02_flats.jpg

Well I'll be damned, it's another wooden crate. I like the diffuse texture for this one, although looking at it ingame it seems like 512x512 isn't quite sufficient to get the same texture density I have in most of the other props I've made.

A word about texturing: I can't paint well, so there's that. But as for photo manipulation: I used to hate creating textures. In fact, I still do because I'm not that good at it. But I've had two eye-opening revelations that have made me more fond of texture creation since starting this project: for one, creating a high-poly mesh and baking normal/occlusion/cavity maps gives me such a leg-up in conveying that detail in the texture that it's absolutely worth the extra time. Secondly, I only recently discovered Photoshop's "Blend If" feature despite having used Photoshop since I was 11 years old. That thing is a huge time saver.

st_crate_milk_01.jpg
st_crate_milk_02_flats.jpg
st_crate_milk_03_hipoly.jpg