Home Technical Talk

HighPoly To LowPoly Modeling

Hey guys,

I'm currently a student in school right now, I won't mention the school but right now we are working on a character modeling project. My school hired a new teacher and he seems to be stuck in the 1990s I think. He doesn't seem to understand the importance of the newer high poly modeling work flow. I'm working on throwing together a document that showcases some professional work and quotes of from artists such as the people that post on these forums.

What I wanted to know is could some of you guys give me some more insight on the work flow from creating the high poly model to the Low poly ingame model?

How has this changed the way games look? Would you ever want to go back to hand painting all the detail?

Thanks guys

-C

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    An admirable plan, I wish you luck getting this presented to the teacher (maybe try to give it as a presentation to the whole class if you can). In my experience it can be very hard to change things like this, especially when there's a curriculum that's been set and probably won't change for that school year.

Here's a great run-down of some next-gen techniques by Masakari.

This has changed the way games look by allowing lighting to be fully dynamic over a detailed model, so instead of painted static highlights and shadows, you can have a much more realistic surface approximation by combining diffuse, normals and specular maps to mimic real-world surfaces.

Regarding "woudl you ever want to go back to hand painting", it's a different question now - while in the past you had to hand paint or photosource everything, nowadays you have the option of how to approach different styles.