Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Young Genie/Gypsy Girl Model

aeryis
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
aeryis polycounter lvl 10
This is my first time making a low poly game model. I need some suggestions. My biggest concern would be the joints area where she'll bend and if i have enough edge loops for deformation. Should I make this model all one piece, or should I break her up? Right now her shirt and torso are one piece. Her chest and neck area, hands and forearms, legs and shoes are all separate. Let me know what you think... Anybody...? Thanks!

WIP_female_body02.jpg

WIP_female_body_wireframe02.jpg

Replies

• aeryis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So far so good, I think. :D Another lil update. Added the head. Everything is one piece except for her shoes, head and chest area, and anything else around her head. Still a WIP. gotta fix the ponytail, and maybe the shoes so they don't look too clunky. With everything, she's at 3543 faces/ 7702 tris. So, which is more important, faces, or tris? Talk to me peeps!

genia_WIP.jpg
  • achillesian
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    minimum tris for sculpting in mudbox or zbrush, then automatically converted to tris for game, neither is more important than the other, the requirement will just be in either, 4 sided faces, or 3 sided faces (tris)
  • Neavah
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    My two cents:

The tri count is more important than face count. What count are you aiming for?

Completely my personal opinion, I would try taking out some of the edges in the torso, as its really dence compared to the rest of the body. And add some where the polys are long. especailly if your going to use a sculpting program.

The only reason I would break up a model is if it needs more texture space/detail.