Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Outpost guard..

Hi there! Complements on the great forum here.
This is actually my first post here, so here I go...

This is my own interpertation of a space marine like character.
I designed and created this character because of two reasons. One as a fulltime game producer I don’t have time to create graphics myself. As a former 3D game environmental and cinematic artist I sometimes miss it a little, It is also a good way to keep my knowledge of 3d graphics up-to-date. This is why I created this 3D illustration in my free time.
Body, Armor and weapon all are modeled in 3d max 2009, the face details were done in zbrush. Textures done with PS CS3. I hope you like it, but also if you have any critique on it please don’t hesitate.. :\

guard.jpg

Replies

• adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19
    Hey man, awesome stuff. I hope you don't mind but I passed it around to the entire DoW2 team :thumbup:
  • Sandbag
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sandbag polycounter lvl 18
    It's great to see someone in production having and keeping their art skills sharp, the world would be a better place with more production staff like that!
  • Em.
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Em. polycounter lvl 17
    That is beautiful man, really. Not that I'd say anything negative, cause your name is keyser soze, and no one fucks with keyser soze. XD

Great work.
  • GugloPWN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    His boots are still dry after climbing a snowy mountain? Looks really good though.
  • r4ptur3
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    r4ptur3 polycounter lvl 10
    looks awesome!

If I had to crit, I would say the darker blue of the mountain (on the right) blends in with the marine's armor and makes his silhouette harder to read.

Fantastic work on the textures. Real inspiring stuff.
  • konstruct
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    konstruct polycounter lvl 18